Lionel Messi Wins The Men’s Ballon d’Or

Messi Wins Ballon d'Or

Lionel Messi Wins The Men’s Ballon d’Or: Lionel Messi, the Barcelona, and Argentine forwarder have been named Ballon d’Or trophy winner on Monday for 2018/19 year. He becomes the first footballer to win the Ballon d’Or award six times in the history of football.

His closest arch-rival and Juventus forward Cristiano Ronaldo has five Ballon d’Or award. Barcelona number 10 has also taken the award in 2010, 2011, 2012 and 2015 after his first Ballon d’Or back in 2009.

It may interest you to know that Real Madrid playmaker Luka Modric Last year, became the first player other than Messi and Ronaldo to receive the award since 2007.

Lionel Messi Wins The Men’s Ballon d’Or award


Messi Wins Ballon d'Or

The 32-year-old Messi saw off competition from the Juventus forward GOAT Cristiano Ronaldo and Liverpool defender Virgil van Dijk to win the Ballon d’Or, which was voted for by journalists. Van Dijk had tipped by many to become the first defender in 13 years to win the award, following in the steps of Fabio Cannavaro who became the 2006 winner

However, this did not happen. The Dutchman and Liverpool defender Van Dijk had already been crowned UEFA Player of the Year after a successful winning the Champions League with Liverpool last season. Cristiano Ronaldo was not able to attend the Ballon d’Or award gala night in Paris.

Other notable winner and their awards

United States footballer Megan Rapinoe won Women’s Ballon d’Or for 2019,

Alisson Becker Liverpool star was awarded the Yachine Trophy for the best men’s goalkeeper in world football

Matthijs de Ligt Juventus star wins Kopa 2019 trophy. The Dutchman star becomes the 2nd player after french star Mbappe to win the prize

Congratulations to Lionel Messi for winning Men’s Ballon d’Or Award and to other players. See you next year. Bye…

Author: makontech

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *